Verse of the Day — Galatians 1:10

Standard

This is my very first “verse of the day” post. I will be posting these to give my peers and anyone else who reads my blog the chance to get a young woman of God’s perspective on the word of God. I will share a verse (the Bible version may vary), then I will give a little bit of textual background into the verse, and finally, I will give any insight I may have into that particular verse.

Galatians 1:10 – “Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ.” NIV

So, what does this verse mean? Well, let’s get a little bit of background first. In this chapter, Paul is speaking to the Galatians. He is appalled that they have let other people come in with a different Gospel than the one that he taught them. He lets them know that he received his Gospel directly from God and did not ask for any human’s input. Paul also speaks of his previous life. He tells the Galatians of how he used to persecute Christians but when God changed his life, Paul did not consult anyone on Earth, instead he went straight into doing God’s work.

Now, let’s take a look at this verse in particular. In this verse, Paul gives us a very strict dichotomy. He lets us know that we can either try to please people, or we can be a servant of God. We can’t do both. What happens when we try to please people? We forget all about God! We get so caught up in wondering what the world thinks that we forget to care about what God thinks. The Bible tells us that our focus should be on things above and not on worldy things(Colossians 3:2). This means we should be looking for God’s approval, not the approval of our peers.

But believe me, I know this is a lot easier said than done. I find myself falling into this trap as well. It’s so much easier to only think about the things and people that we can see. It’s like when we forget to call our relatives every so often. Out of sight, out of mind, right? Wrong. The Bible tells us that only the things we can’t see will last (2 Corinthians 4:18). So, what’s the point of trying to focus on something that is not going to last? Our generation’s curse of instant gratification strikes again.

So, what can we take away from this verse and use in our daily lives? How about “Don’t worry so much about what the world thinks, but pray and read the Bible to find out what God thinks.” Therefore, from this verse, we can take two assignments and these assignments are the basic and essentials ones of our faith: pray and read the Bible. By communication with God, we can find out what He wants from us, and be more effective in our daily lives.

 

~Xena Callaham

Do better. Think better. Be better.

2 thoughts on “Verse of the Day — Galatians 1:10

  1. naomihenry49

    Don’t we all struggle with trying to please people over God. You are not alone. But I am learning that pleasing God is one of the highest joys, if not the highest joy that we can experience. To live that out is hard because we are constantly surrounded by people. But I am trying to look upwards to heaven rather than around me. Thank you for sharing, I look forward to reading more of your posts 🙂

    Like

    • Yes! This is a struggle for everyone. Thank you for saying I’m not alone. Everyone needs to hear that every once in a while. And you are completely right. Pleasing God is the highest joy we can have simply because that is what we were made for. And all any of us can do is try to look heavenward. Thank you so much for your comment and thank you for following. Today’s post will be out in just a few minutes so stay tuned!

      Like

Leave a Reply

